Backgrounder

​​​Effective Regulation, Proactive Engagement, Sustainable Solutions

CPAB is Canada’s audit regulator, protecting the investing public’s interests. As a world-class audit regulator, focused on excellence, we deliver value to our various stakeholders through effective regulation and by promoting high-quality, independent auditing. As a champion of audit quality, CPAB contributes to public confidence in the integrity of financial reporting, which supports our capital markets.

We fulfil our mandate in two ways: through inspections  and by involving a broader range of stakeholders  in a discussion about and better understanding of the audit process. This requires a multi-faceted approach to stakeholder engagement and inspection methodology, including root-cause analysis, risk assessment and value-added recommendations.

CPAB’s governing document, the Canadian Securities Administrators’ National Instrument - 52-108 Auditor Oversight​ requires auditors of reporting issuers to be registered with CPAB as CPAB participants, and requires Canadian reporting issuers to issue financial statements audited only by CPAB participating firms.

At December 31, 2015, 286 audit firms were registered with CPAB. During 2015, CPAB inspected 39 firms in total (2014:42) and 179 engagement files (2014:174).

Governance

CPAB has a nine member Board of Directors appointed by the Council of Governors.

Our Priorities

CPAB’s 2016-2018 strategic plan builds on our progress to further enhance the organization’s effectiveness. We want to address the more systemic barriers to audit quality to drive sustainable, high quality audits. To accomplish this, CPAB will focus on the following five strategic imperatives over the next three years:

  1. Field a high performance team.
  2. Further build a focus on risk assessment and mitigation into CPAB’s culture.
  3. Continue to enhance inspections.
  4. Develop practical and meaningful thought leadership.
  5. Expand awareness and understanding of issues related to audit quality across stakeholders.

To deliver on these imperatives, CPAB will continue to be organized in the following functional areas: Risk Management, Inspections, Thought Leadership and Stakeholder Engagement. To achieve our goals we will continue to focus on developing our people and to participate actively in discussing issues related to audit quality and audit policy internationally. Specific initiatives and planned action steps across each of these areas are outlined in our 2016-2018 Strategic Plan document.

Inspections

CPAB’s inspection methodology is risk based. We primarily assess the quality of audits through the inspection of selected high-risk sections of audit files and an assessment of the six elements of quality control. We then work with audit firms to develop solutions in areas where audit quality should be improved.

To learn more about our inspections activity, visit our Inspections webpage.

Thought Leadership

CPAB is in a unique position to contribute to the state of audit quality, audit committee effectiveness and international audit regulatory development. CPAB can make a significant contribution to enhancing audit quality and investor protection by providing content that can help stakeholders have a significant impact on audit quality and perform their role more effectively.

Learn more about Thought Leadership’s work on the Current and Emerging Issues page.

Stakeholder Engagement

Audit firms and financial statement preparers are not the only players in the audit process. Audit committees, institutional investors and analysts also play important roles. CPAB believes there is an opportunity to enhance audit quality and investor protection by engaging in a dialogue and raising awareness about audit quality among stakeholders.

Information and publications are sorted by relevancy to stakeholders on our Stakeholder webpage.

Staff

CPAB employs approximately 50 professionals. For more information about working at CPAB, please visit our Careers site.

​​​​CPAB’s Mission

Effective regulation - Proactively identify current and emerging risks to the integrity of financial reporting of public companies in Canada by assessing how auditors effectively respond to those risks, identifying root causes and requiring remediation of any audit firm quality issues, and engaging those charged with governance, regulators and standard setters to develop sustainable solutions to enhance audit quality.

​​​​​​CPAB’s Vision​

To contribute to public confidence in the integrity of financial reporting of reporting issuers in Canada by effective regulation and promoting quality, independent auditing.

Join our mailing list

Receive news and Information from CPAB.

Have a concern?

Contact our confidential, anonymous hotline.

Participating Firms

See CPAB registered audit firms. Full List

Note d'information

​​​​​​​​​​Une réglementation efficace, un engagement proactif et des solutions durables

Le CCRC est l’organisme de réglementation de l’audit du Canada, chargé de la protection des intérêts du public investisseur. En tant qu’organisme de réglementation de l’audit de calibre mondial axé sur l’excellence, nous fournissons de la valeur à nos diverses parties prenantes par une réglementation efficace et par la promotion d'audits indépendants et de haute qualité. Véritable chef de file de la qualité de l’audit, le CCRC contribue à la confiance du public dans l’intégrité de l’information financière et soutient ainsi nos marchés financiers.

Nous nous acquittons de notre mandat de deux façons : en réalisant des inspections et en faisant intervenir une panoplie élargie de parties prenante pour discuter du processus d'audit et mieux le comprendre. Pour ce faire, nous adoptons une approche multidimensionnelle quant à l’engagement des parties prenantes et la méthode d’inspection, qui inclut l’analyse des causes fondamentales des défaillances, l’évaluation du risque et la présentation de recommandations à valeur ajoutée.

Le document constitutif du CCRC, le Règlement 52-108​ des Autorités canadiennes en valeurs mobilières sur la surveillance des auditeurs, oblige les auditeurs d'émetteurs assujettis à s'inscrire auprès du CCRC en tant que cabinets participants, et exige des émetteurs assujettis canadiens qu'ils publient des états financiers audités par un cabinet participant.

Au 31 décembre 2017, 286 cabinets d’audit étaient inscrits auprès du CCRC. En 2017, le CCRC a inspecté au total 45 cabinets (45 en 2016) et 154 dossiers de mission (167 en 2015).

Gouvernance

Le conseil d’administration du CCRC est formé de neuf administrateurs qui sont nommés par le conseil des gouverneurs.

Nos priorités

Le plan stratégique 2016-2018 du CCRC vise à tirer parti des progrès que le CCRC a réalisés afin d’améliorer davantage son efficacité. Nous voulons trouver des solutions aux obstacles les plus systémiques à la qualité de l’audit afin de favoriser la réalisation durable d’audits de grande qualité. Pour ce faire, le CCRC se concentrera sur les cinq impératifs stratégiques suivants au cours des trois prochaines années :

  1. Bâtir une équipe très performante;
  2. Ancrer davantage l’évaluation et l’atténuation des risques dans la culture du CCRC;
  3. Continuer d’améliorer les inspections;
  4. Produire de l’information de leadership éclairé pratique et significative;
  5. Mieux faire connaître et comprendre les questions relatives à la qualité de l’audit à l’ensemble des parties prenantes.

Pour respecter ces impératifs, le CCRC maintiendra sa structure reposant sur les secteurs fonctionnels suivants : gestion des risques, inspections, leadership éclairé et engagement des parties prenantes. Pour atteindre nos objectifs, nous continuerons d’accorder la priorité au perfectionnement des membres de notre personnel et de participer activement aux discussions concernant les questions relatives à la qualité de l’audit et à la politique en matière d’audit à l’échelle internationale. Les initiatives précises et les mesures prévues dans chacun de ces secteurs sont présentées dans notre plan stratégique 2016-2018.

Inspections

Le CCRC emploie une méthodologie fondée sur les risques. Nous évaluons la qualité des audits principalement en inspectant certaines sections des dossiers d’audit où le risque est élevé et en évaluant les six éléments du contrôle qualité. Nous collaborons ensuite avec les cabinets d’audit pour élaborer des solutions dans les secteurs où une amélioration de la qualité de l’audit est nécessaire.

Nous vous invitons à en apprendre davantage sur nos activités d’inspection en consultant notre page Web Inspections.

Le leadership éclairé

Le CCRC occupe une position unique qui lui permet de contribuer à la qualité de l’audit, à l’efficacité des comités d’audit et à l’élaboration de la réglementation internationale en la matière. Le CCRC est en mesure de contribuer grandement à l’amélioration de la qualité de l’audit et à la protection des investisseurs en fournissant de l’information qui peut aider les parties prenantes à influer considérablement sur la qualité de l’audit et à s’acquitter plus efficacement de leur rôle.

Nous vous invitons à en apprendre davantage sur le leadership éclairé en consultant la page Sujets d’actualité et questions émergentes.

Engagement des parties prenantes

Les cabinets d’audit et les préparateurs d’états financiers ne sont pas les seuls intervenants dans le processus d’audit. Les comités d’audit, les investisseurs institutionnels et les analystes jouent également un rôle important. Le CCRC estime qu’il est possible d’améliorer la qualité de l’audit et de renforcer la protection des investisseurs en engageant des échanges avec les parties prenantes et les sensibilisant davantage à la qualité de l’audit.

Notre page Web sur les parties prenantes contient des renseignements et des publications classés selon leur pertinence pour chaque type de partie prenante.

Personnel

Une cinquantaine de professionnels sont au service du CCRC. Pour en savoir davantage sur la possibilité de travailler au CCRC, visitez notre page Carrières.

​​
​​​​La mission du CCRC

Réglementation efficace — relever de façon proactive les risques actuels et nouveaux liés à l’intégrité de l’information financière des sociétés ouvertes au Canada en évaluant la façon dont les auditeurs répondent à ces risques dans les faits; cerner les causes fondamentales des défaillances dans la qualité de l’audit et exiger des cabinets d’audit concernés qu’ils remédient à ces défaillances; et inciter les responsables de la gouvernance, les organismes de réglementation et les normalisateurs à élaborer des solutions durables pour améliorer la qualité de l’audit.

​​​​La vision du CCRC

Contribuer à la confiance du public dans l’intégrité de l’information financière des émetteurs assujettis au Canada, par une réglementation efficace et par la promotion d’audits indépendants et de haute qualité.

Abonnez-vous à notre liste de diffusion.

Recevez des nouvelles et des informations du
CCRC.

Une question vous préoccupe?

Communiquez avec nous par l’entremise de
notre ligne téléphonique confidentielle.

Cabinets participants

Voir une liste de cabinets d’audit inscrits
auprès du CCRC. » Liste complète