Board Of Directors

​​CPAB’s Board of Directors has overall responsibility for supervising the management of CPAB's activities and affairs.

The Board has 11 directors, all appointed by the Council of Governors. At least four, but no more than five of the directors, must be professional accountants to ensure the Board has directors with accounting expertise. At least two directors must have regulatory experience or regulatory/audit oversight experience.

Although CPAB’s By-Laws specify that directors are reappointed annually by the Council of Governors, CPAB has a policy that individual directors are appointed for a term of up to three years, and are eligible for reappointment, provided their total tenure does not exceed nine years (unless CPAB has recommended the extension of the appointment, limited to one, one-year term.

​​

 

Nicholas Le Pan
, Chair
X
Nicholas Le Pan
, Chair

Nick Le Pan was appointed Chair of CPAB on April 15, 2008. Prior to this, he served in the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) in key roles, including Superintendent of Financial Institutions from 2001 to 2006, and Deputy Superintendent from 1995 to 2001. Before this, he was a senior official in the federal Department of Finance. He is on the Board of CIBC and chairs its Risk Committee. He also chairs the Independent Review Committee of Brandes Funds. Le Pan consults on financial services matters for a number of organizations, including the International Monetary Fund (IMF). He lives in Ottawa, Ontario.

Jocelyn Proteau
, Vice Chair
X
Jocelyn Proteau
, Vice Chair

Jocelyn Proteau has chaired the Board of BTB Investment Trust since 2006 and has chaired the Board of Richelieu Hardware since January 2013. Proteau is a member of the Board of Familiprix and CO2 Solutions Inc. He was a member of the Board of HEC Montréal (École des Hautes Études Commerciales) from 2001 to 2015 and chaired the Board of the Standard Life Assurance Company of Canada and Standard Life Financial Inc. from 2005 to May 2009. Proteau also chaired the Board of Standard Life Trust from 2003 to 2009.  Prior to this role with Standard Life, he was the Chair and CEO of Fédération des Caisses Desjardins de Montréal-et-de-l'Ouest-du-Québec from 1989 to 2001. Currently Vice Chair of CPAB and an ex-officio member of CPAB’s Human Resources and Governance Committee and Risk and Audit Committee, Proteau lives in Montréal, Québec.

Ian Bourne
, F.ICD, ICD.D
X
Ian Bourne
, F.ICD, ICD.D

Ian Bourne is the Chair of Ballard Power Systems Inc. He is a Director of the Canada Pension Plan Investment Board, Canadian Oil Sands Limited and Wajax Corporation. He also has served on the boards of a number of not-for-profit organizations.  Bourne acted as Chair of SNC-Lavalin Group from 2013 to 2015 and interim CEO of SNC-Lavalin during 2012. He is a former Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of TransAlta Corporation. Prior to this, he held a number of senior management positions with General Electric and Canada Post Corporation. Bourne was recognized as a Fellow of the Institute of Corporate Directors in 2011. Bourne is a member of CPAB’s Human Resources and Governance Committee and lives in Calgary, Alberta.

Kenneth Crump
,
X
Kenneth Crump
,

Ken Crump is the Past Chair of the Board of Trustees of the Coast Wholesale Appliances Income Fund. He is Past Chair of the Finance and Audit Committee and Past Vice Chair of the Board of Community Living British Columbia, a provincial Crown agency. Crump spent nine years with BC Telecom Inc., serving as Senior Vice President of Corporate Services and Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer from 1995 to 1999. Prior to this, he held a number of senior management positions with BC Telecom and Microtel Limited. He has also been involved with a variety of other boards. Crump chairs CPAB’s Risk and Audit Committee and lives in Vancouver, British Columbia.

Julie Dickson
,
X
Julie Dickson
,

Julie Dickson is a former Superintendent of Financial Institutions of Canada and member of the Financial Stability Board in Basil, Switzerland. She was formerly a Director of the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation, the Toronto Leadership Center, a member of the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision and  a member  of the Supervisory Board of the European Central Bank from 2014-2017. Dickson is a recipient and Member of the Order of Canada, having been recognized for her work related to financial supervision and regulation in Canada and globally. She is currently a member of the Board of the Dubai Financial Services Authority. Dickson is a member of CPAB’s Human Resources and Governance Committee and lives in Ottawa, Ontario.

Guy Fréchette
, FCPA, FCA
X
Guy Fréchette
, FCPA, FCA

Guy Fréchette is a former Vice Chair and member of the Executive Committee at Ernst & Young LLP and was Managing Partner for the Province of Québec until 2008. He sits on several boards, including the Montréal Symphony Orchestra Endowment Fund Board., where he chairs the Audit Committee. Fréchette was a board member of HEC-Montreal from 1999 to 2015 and he chaired the Audit Committee for that period. In 2012 he was appointed Chair of the Board of HEC-Montreal Foundation. He serves on the Boards of CEPSUM of Montréal University and for Fonds Ville-Marie. He is President of the Foundation for Mental Illness (Québec) Inc. and is a past President and Chair of the Board for the Montréal Board of Trade. Fréchette also sits on the Board of Otera Capital, a subsidiary of the Caisse de Depot du Québec, where he chairs the Human Resources Committee and sits on the Audit Committee. Fréchette is a member of CPAB’s Risk and Audit Committee and lives in Montréal, Québec.

Bruce C. Jenkins
, FCPA, FCA
X
Bruce C. Jenkins
, FCPA, FCA

Bruce Jenkins retired as Deputy Chief Executive of Deloitte & Touche (Canada) in 2009. During his career he was also a member of the firm's Executive Committee and Board of Directors. Jenkins is also a past member of the Board of Directors of CPA Canada and a past Chair of CPA Ontario. He was recognized as a Fellow of that Institute in 1991. Jenkins has also chaired the Board of the Oakville Centre for the Performing Arts and been a board member of Junior Achievement of Canada and Big Brothers and Sisters of Canada. Jenkins is a member of CPAB's Risk and Audit Committee and lives in Toronto, Ontario.

Sheryl Kennedy
,
X
Sheryl Kennedy
,

Sheryl Kennedy is the CEO of Promontory Financial Group Canada ULC, an affiliate of Promontory Financial Group LLC, an IBM Company. Promontory is a global consulting firm to the financial services industry that provides strategy, risk management and regulatory advice. She was the Deputy Governor of the Bank of Canada from 1994 to 2008 and chaired the Markets Committee at the Bank for International Settlements in Basel, Switzerland from 2003 to 2006. She served as Senior Advisor for International Strategy for Scotiabank in 2006. Prior to her time with the Bank of Canada, Kennedy worked in the federal Department of Finance and served as Finance Counsellor at the Canadian Embassy in Paris, France. Kennedy is a member of CPAB's Risk and Audit Committee and lives in Toronto, Ontario.

Picture of Board memeber Alice Laberge
Alice Laberge
, F.ICD
X
Picture of Board memeber Alice Laberge
Alice Laberge
, F.ICD

​Alice Laberge is currently a Director of the Royal Bank of Canada, Potash Corporation of Saskatchewan, Russel Metals Inc. and the BC Cancer Foundation. She has previously sat on other boards in a wide range of organizations such as crown corporations, universities and not-for-profit organizations. Laberge is formerly the President and Chief Executive Officer and prior to that Chief Financial Officer of Fincentric Corporation. Prior to this, she held a number of senior management positions with MacMillan Bloedel Limited, including Chief Financial Officer. Laberge was recognized as a Fellow of the Institute of Corporate Directors in 2015.  Laberge is a member of CPAB’s Human Resources and Governance Committee and lives in Vancouver, British Columbia.

Gary Porter
, FCPA, FCGA, CA (BC)
X
Gary Porter
, FCPA, FCGA, CA (BC)

Gary Porter is the retired co-founder of the public accounting and consulting firm Porter Hétu International. He was elected to the Ontario Certified General Accountants (CGA) Executive in 1986, became President of CGA Ontario in 1992 and Vice President of CGA Canada in 1994. Porter also served as the Chair of the Investment Committee and as a member of the Audit & Actuarial Committee while serving on the Board of Directors of the Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan. He has written and lectured on auditing and accounting standards for the past 25 years. Porter is a member of CPAB’s Human Resources and Governance Committee and lives in Sidney, British Columbia.

Benita M. Warmbold
, FCPA, FCA
X
Benita M. Warmbold
, FCPA, FCA

Benita Warmbold is Senior Managing Director and Chief Financial Officer at the Canada Pension Plan Investment Board (CPP Investment Board). Prior to joining the CPP Investment Board, she was Managing Director and Chief Financial Officer of Northwater Capital Management Inc., and held senior positions with the Canada Development Investment Corporation and KPMG. Warmbold is active on several boards, including SNC-Lavalin, Crestone Peak Resources, Methanex Corporation, Queen’s University Board of Trustees and Women’s College Hospital. She is also Chair of the Queen’s University's Smith School of Business Advisory Board. Warmbold is Chair of CPAB’s Human Resources and Governance Committee and lives in Toronto, Ontario.

​​

Join our mailing list

Receive news and Information from CPAB.

Have a concern?

Contact our confidential, anonymous hotline.

Participating Firms

See CPAB registered audit firms. Full List

​​Le conseil d’administration du CCRC a la responsabilité générale de la supervision de la gestion des activités et des affaires du CCRC.

Le conseil d’administration est formé de neuf administrateurs qui sont tous nommés par le conseil des gouverneurs. Pour que le conseil d’administration dispose d’une expertise adéquate en comptabilité, au moins quatre de ses membres, mais pas plus de cinq, doivent être des professionnels comptables. En outre, au moins deux administrateurs doivent posséder une expérience en matière de réglementation ou de surveillance de l’audit. ​​​

Même si les statuts du CCRC ​spécifient que les administrateurs doivent être nommés chaque année par le conseil des gouverneurs, la politique du CCRC prévoit que chaque administrateur est nommé pour une période pouvant aller jusqu’à trois ans, et que son mandat peut être renouvelé, pourvu que sa durée totale n’excède pas neuf ans (à moins que le CCRC n'​en ait recommandé la prolongation, qui ne peut excéder une seule période d’un an).

Le CPAB tient à souligner la contribution de deux membres du conseil d'administration à la retraite. Gary Porter et Ken Crump ont siégé au conseil d'administration pendant neuf et dix ans respectivement. De par conseils et connaissances inestimables, ils ont aidé le CCRC à faire progresser la qualité de l’audit au Canada. Nous leur souhaitons nos meilleurs vœux de succès pour l'avenir.

Nicholas Le Pan
, Président
X
Nicholas Le Pan
, Président

​Nick Le Pan a été nommé président du conseil d'administration du CCRC le 15 avril 2008. Avant sa nomination, il a occupé des postes clés au sein du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF), notamment ceux de surintendant des institutions financières de 2001 à 2006, et de surintendant adjoint de 1995 à 2001. Auparavant, il occupait les fonctions de cadre supérieur au ministère fédéral des Finances. Il est membre du conseil d'administration de la CIBC, et a présidé son comité de gestion du risque et membre de son comité d'audit. Il préside également le comité d'examen indépendant de Brandes Funds. Le Pan agit à titre d'expert-conseil en matière de services financiers pour diverses organisations, dont le Fonds monétaire international (FMI). Il vit à Ottawa (Ontario).​​​​

Jocelyn Proteau
, Vice-président
X
Jocelyn Proteau
, Vice-président

Jocelyn Proteau préside le conseil des fiduciaires du Fonds de placement immobilier BTB depuis 2006 et le conseil de Quincaillerie Richelieu depuis janvier 2013. Proteau est membre du conseil de Familiprix, CO2 Solutions Inc. Il était membre du conseil de l'École des Hautes Études Commerciales (HEC Montréal) de 2001 à 2015 et a présidé le conseil de la Standard Life Assurance Company of Canada et de Standard Life Financial Inc. de 2005 à 2009. Proteau a également présidé le conseil de la Standard Life Trust de 2003 à 2009. Avant d'occuper ce poste au sein de Standard Life, il était président et directeur général de la Fédération des Caisses Desjardins de Montréal et de l'Ouest du Québec de 1989 à 2001. Actuellement vice-président du conseil d’administration du CCRC et membre de droit du comité des ressources humaines et de la gouvernance ainsi que du comité de risque et d'audit du CCRC, Proteau vit à Montréal (Québec). 

Ian Bourne
, F.ICD, ICD.D
X
Ian Bourne
, F.ICD, ICD.D

Ian Bourne est président du conseil d’administration de Ballard Power Systems Inc. Il est administrateur de l’Office d’investissement du régime de pensions du Canada et de Hydro One Limited. Il a siégé aux conseils d’administration de Wajax Corporation et de nombreux organismes à but non lucratif. Bourne a siégé au conseil d’administration de SNC-Lavalin en tant que président de 2013 à 2015 et a assuré la direction générale intérimaire de SNC-Lavalin en 2012. Il a été vice-président directeur et directeur des finances de TransAlta Corporation. Il a antérieurement occupé plusieurs postes à la haute direction de General Electric et de la Société canadienne des postes. Bourne a obtenu le titre de Fellow de l’Institut des administrateurs de sociétés en 2011. Bourne est membre du comité des ressources humaines et de la gouvernance du CCRC et vit à Calgary (Alberta).

Julie Dickson
,
X
Julie Dickson
,

Julie Dickson est l’ancienne Surintendante d’Institutions Financières du Canada et membre du Financial Stability Board à Bâle en Suisse. Elle a aussi été administratrice de la société d’Assurance-Dépôts du Canada, du Toronto Leadership Center, un membre du Comité de Bâle sur a Supervision Bancaire et une membre du conseil de surveillance de la Banque Centrale Européenne de 2014 à 2017. Mme. Dickson est récipiendaire de l’Ordre du Canada, en reconnaissance pour son travail relié à la supervision et réglementation financiers au Canada et ailleurs. Présentement, Mme. Dickson siège sur le conseil de Dubai Financial Services Authority. Mme. Dickson est membre du comité de risque et d'audit du CCRC et elle vit à Ottawa (Ontario).

Guy Fréchette
, FCPA, FCA
X
Guy Fréchette
, FCPA, FCA

Guy Fréchette a été vice-président et membre du comité de direction d'Ernst & Young s.r.l./s.e.n.c.r.l. et associé directeur pour la province de Québec jusqu'en 2008. Il siège à de nombreux conseils d'administration, dont celui du fonds de dotation de l'Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, dont il préside le comité d’audit. Fréchette était membre du conseil d'administration de l'École des Hautes Études Commerciales (HEC Montréal) de 1999 à 2015 et présidait le comité d’audit pendant cette période. En 2012, il a été nommé président du conseil d’administration de la Fondation HEC Montréal. Il est administrateur du CEPSUM de l'Université de Montréal. Il est ancien président de la Fondation des maladies mentales (Québec) et ancien président du conseil d'administration de la Chambre de commerce de Montréal. Fréchette siège également au conseil d'Otéra Capital, une filiale de la Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec, où il préside le comité des ressources humaines et fait partie du comité d'audit. Fréchette est membre du comité de risque et d'audit du CCRC et vit à Montréal (Québec).

Bruce C. Jenkins
, FCPA, FCA
X
Bruce C. Jenkins
, FCPA, FCA

Bruce Jenkins a pris sa retraite en tant que directeur général adjoint de Deloitte & Touche (Canada) en 2009. Au cours de sa carrière, il a aussi siégé au comité de direction et au conseil d'administration du cabinet. Il a également déjà siégé au conseil d'administration de CPA Canada et exercé les fonctions de président du Conseil de CPA Ontario, qui lui a décerné le titre de fellow en 1991. Il a aussi présidé le conseil d'administration du Oakville Centre for the Performing Arts et agi comme administrateur de Jeunes entreprises du Canada et des Grands Frères Grandes Sœurs du Canada. Jenkins préside le comité de risque et d'audit du CCRC et vit à Toronto (Ontario).

Sheryl Kennedy
,
X
Sheryl Kennedy
,

Sheryl Kennedy est directrice générale de Promontory Financial Group Canada ULC, une société affiliée de Promontory Financial Group LLC, une société du groupe IBM. Promontory est une société de service de consultation internationale qui fournit aux sociétés du secteur des services financiers des conseils en matière de stratégie, de gestion du risque et de réglementation. Elle a été sous-gouverneure de la Banque du Canada de 1994 à 2008 et présidente du comité sur les marchés à la Banque des règlements internationaux à Bâle, en Suisse, de 2003 à 2006. Elle a également occupé le poste de conseillère principale en stratégie internationale à la Banque Scotia en 2006. Avant d'occuper un poste à la Banque du Canada, Kennedy a travaillé au ministère fédéral des Finances et a agi comme conseillère en finances à l'ambassade canadienne à Paris, en France. Kennedy est membre du comité de risque et d'audit du CCRC et vit à Toronto (Ontario).

Alice Laberge
, ICD.D
X
Alice Laberge
, ICD.D

Alice Laberge est une administratrice de Banque Royale du Canada (BRC), Nutrien Ltd. de Saskatchewan, de Russel Metals Inc. et de BC Cancer Foundation. Elle a aussi siégé sur plusieurs conseils d’administration des sociétés d’État, d’universités et d’organisations à but non-lucratif. Auparavant, Madame Laberge était Présidente et directrice générale et le directeur financier du Fincentric Corporation. Auparavant, elle s’occupe de nombreux postes exécutifs à MacMillan Bloedel Limited, y compris la directrice financière. Mme. Labrege était nommé comme une fellow de l’Institut des administrateurs de sociétés en 2015. Mme. Laberge est membre du comité des ressources humaines et de la gouvernance du CCRC et elle est domiciliée à Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique).

Benita M. Warmbold
, FCPA, FCA
X
Benita M. Warmbold
, FCPA, FCA

Benita Warmbold est l'ancienne directrice générale et l'ancienne directrice financière au sein de l’Office d’investissement du régime de pensions du Canada (Office d’Investissement du RPC) ou elle a passé neuf années. Avant de se joindre à l’Office d’investissement du RPC, elle a tenue des postes de haute direction avec Northwater Capital Management Inc., la Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada et de KPMG. Warmbold siège à plusieurs conseils d’administration, notamment ceux de SNC-Lavalin, Methanex Corporation, Crestone Peak Resources , Queen’s University et du Women’s College Hospital. Elle est également présidente du conseil consultatif de la Queen’s University's Smith School of Business. Warmbold préside le comité des ressources humaines et de la gouvernance du CCRC et vit à Toronto (Ontario).

​​

Abonnez-vous à notre liste de diffusion.

Recevez des nouvelles et des informations du
CCRC.

Une question vous préoccupe?

Communiquez avec nous par l’entremise de
notre ligne téléphonique confidentielle.

Cabinets participants

Voir une liste de cabinets d’audit inscrits
auprès du CCRC. » Liste complète