Governance & Accountability

CPAB was created in 2003 by the Canadian Securities Administrators, the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (Canada) and the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants as part of a series of reforms designed to improve investor confidence. CPAB's Council of Governors has the primary oversight role and is responsible, in particular, for appointing CPAB's Board of Directors and selecting the Board Chair and Vice Chair.

The Board of Directors​ has overall responsibility for supervising the management of CPAB's activities and affairs, and has established a Risk and Audit Committee and a Human Resources and Governance Committee as standing committees to support this oversight.

The Risk and Audit Committee assists the Board of Directors in fulfilling its obligations and oversight responsibilities related to financial budgeting and reporting, the system of corporate controls and the external audit. It also provides guidance and oversees CPAB’s activities and affairs related to risk management, including the identification and monitoring of key risks and the development of appropriate risk mitigation strategies.

The Human Resources and Governance Committee reviews and makes recommendations to the Board of Directors on matters of human resources, corporate governance, Board composition and succession, the formation and membership of committees, the objectives, performance and compensation of CPAB’s CEO and other officers, and the content and application of CPAB’s Codes of Ethics. It oversees the annual performance review of the Board of Directors, the Chair, and of any committees. It also provides guidance and oversight of CPAB’s talent management strategies.

CPAB has developed By-laws, Board and Committee Charters and Codes of Ethics  for Staff and Consultants and the Board of Directors to guide its operations. An independently operated Whistleblower Hotline​ has been established to enable the anonymous reporting of matters relating to CPAB, its employees, the firms CPAB inspects, or Canadian reporting issuers.

Read our Statement of Accountability and Governance Practices.​

​Read our Articles of Continuance.


 


 

 

​​

Join our mailing list

Receive news and Information from CPAB.

Have a concern?

Contact our confidential, anonymous hotline.

Participating Firms

See CPAB registered audit firms. Full List

Gouvernance et responsabilité

Le CCRC a été créé en 2003 par les Autorités canadiennes en valeurs mobilières, le Bureau du Surintendant des institutions financières (Canada) et l'Institut canadien des comptables agréés, dans la foulée d'une série de réformes visant le renforcement de la confiance des investisseurs. C'est au conseil des gouverneurs du CCRC que revient le principal rôle de surveillance de l'organisme; en particulier, il est chargé de la nomination des membres du conseil d'administration, de son président et de son vice-président.

​​Le conseil d'administration​ (le Conseil) a la responsabilité générale de superviser la direction, les activités et les affaires du CCRC. Pour ce faire, il a constitué deux comités permanents : un comité d’audit et de gestion des risques ainsi qu’un comité de gouvernance et des ressources humaines pour appuyer cette surveillance.

Le comité d’audit et de gestion des risques aide le Conseil à s'acquitter de ses obligations et responsabilités de surveillance en matière de budget et d’information financière, de système de contrôle interne et d’audit externe. Il établit également les lignes directrices et supervise les activités du CCRC sur la gestion des risques, incluant l’identification et la surveillance des risques clés et le développement de stratégies appropriées pour les atténuer.

Le comité de gouvernance et de ressources humaines examine et formule des recommandations au Conseil sur des questions de ressources humaines, de gouvernance d'entreprise, la composition et le plan de succession du Conseil, la création et la composition des comités, les objectifs de performance et la rémunération du Chef de la Direction, et des autres membres de la direction, ainsi que le contenu et la mise en service du code de déontologie du CCRC. Il examine, au moins annuellement, la performance du Conseil, de son président ainsi que du président de chacun des comités. Il établit également les lignes directrices et supervise les stratégies du CCRC en matière de gestion du personnel talentueux.

Pour encadrer son fonctionnement, le CCRC a élaboré des statuts, des chartes du conseil d'administration et de ses comités et des codes de déontologie, pour le personnel, les experts-conseils et le code d'administration. Une ligne déontologique indépendante ​a été mise en place pour permettre la communication anonyme de préoccupations concernant le CCRC, ses employés, les cabinets qu'il inspecte ou les émetteurs assujettis canadiens.

Consultez notre énoncé de responsabilité et de gouvernance.​

Consultez nos statuts de prorogation.

 

​​

​​​​​

Abonnez-vous à notre liste de diffusion.

Recevez des nouvelles et des informations du
CCRC.

Une question vous préoccupe?

Communiquez avec nous par l’entremise de
notre ligne téléphonique confidentielle.

Cabinets participants

Voir une liste de cabinets d’audit inscrits
auprès du CCRC. » Liste complète