CPAB Protocol
​ ​​​ ​​​

​​​Protocol for Audit Firm Communication of CPAB Inspection Findings with Audit Committees


What is the Protocol?

The Protocol sets out how audit firms communicate CPAB’s inspection findings to audit committees. It applies to audit file inspections commencing on or after March 1, 2014.  Please see the Protocol and Frequently Asked Questions for more details.

Why did CPAB develop the Protocol?

It’s all about improving audit quality. Audit committees are responsible for overseeing and evaluating their company’s external auditor. They have been asking for more information about CPAB’s inspection findings to help them perform this important role more effectively.

Access to more information about CPAB’s inspection findings will help audit committees and audit firms have open and candid discussions about audit quality. It will help audit committees be more effective in their oversight role, and will promote a culture of continuous improvement in audit quality. Developing a way to increase the amount of inspection information available to audit committees was also a key recommendation of the 2013 report from the Enhancing Audit Quality initiative Audit Committee Working Group.

How does it work?

Under the Protocol, audit firms will provide the audit committees of all their reporting issuer clients with:

• CPAB's annual Public Report: The Public Report highlights CPAB's common findings across its inspections in a given year, as well as recommendations to improve audit quality. The report has always been available to audit committees, but having the audit firm provide it will encourage audit committee members to discuss audit quality issues with their audit firm.

In addition, if CPAB has inspected a reporting issuer's audit file that year, the audit firm will also provide that reporting issuer's audit committee with:

• Significant findings specific to a reporting issuer's audit file inspection: The significant inspection findings will be written by CPAB and include the audit firm response to ensure a fair and balanced communication to the audit committee. Audit committee members receiving the information should ensure it remains confidential. The audit firm will provide CPAB with a copy of the specific inspection findings information it gives to the audit committee.

Which audit firms are participating in the sharing of findings under the Protocol?

This Protocol is voluntary and has been developed with input from key stakeholders to respond to demand from audit committees for additional information about CPAB’s inspection findings. To provide transparency on the implementation of the Protocol, audit committees and other stakeholders can click here to access a list of the audit firms participating in the Protocol.

Background and Objectives

Audit committees of reporting issuers in Canada have been requesting greater transparency into CPAB's inspection findings to support them in their role of overseeing and evaluating the external auditor.  A key recommendation of the Audit Committee Working Group of the Enhancing Audit Quality initiative was that CPAB and the audit firms develop a protocol to increase the inspection information available to audit committees.

In 2013 CPAB consulted with key stakeholders including corporate directors, audit firms, and securities regulators to develop the draft Protocol.

The objective of sharing inspection findings is to provide audit committees with relevant information regarding CPAB's inspection findings to support them in their role in overseeing and evaluating the external auditor.

We believe the primary benefit of sharing inspection information is to improve audit quality by enhancing the nature and depth of discussions between the auditor and Audit Committee on audit quality.  This will allow the audit committee to more effectively oversee the work of the auditor and promote a culture of continuous improvement.

Consultation Process

CPAB encouraged all stakeholders to provide feedback on the draft Protocol from November 29, 2013 – January 24, 2014.  The matters on which we particularly welcomed comments were listed in the Specific Questions for Comment section of the Consultation Paper.

Comment letters received and a summary of CPAB’s responses to comments received are listed below. All comments received were made public unless respondents specifically requested otherwise.

Materials for download


Please note that comment letters have been posted in the language that they were written.


CPAB Response Letter for Download

In response to the letters received from the TSX Venture Exchange (see above), CPAB prepared the following response.

Audit Firm Webcast

On January 8, 2014, CPAB held a webcast for audit firms about the CPAB Protocol. To view the archived webcast and to download the webcast slides, please click on the links below:

  • View archived webcast (registration is required)
  • Download webcast slides

  • Audit Committee Webcast

    On January 15, 2014, the Institute of Corporate Directors (ICD) and CPAB held a webcast for audit committee members about the CPAB Protocol. ICD members can view the archived webcast and download the webcast slides by following this link.

    Resources

    Join our mailing list

    Receive news and Information from CPAB.

    Have a concern?

    Contact our confidential, anonymous hotline.

    Participating Firms

    See CPAB registered audit firms. Full List

Le protocole du CCRC

Protocole de communication des constatations de l’inspection du CCRC par les cabinets d’audit aux comités d’audit

Résultats du sondage du CCRC sur le Protocole

En 2016, le CCRC a fait réaliser par un fournisseur tiers indépendant un sondage pour obtenir des commentaires sur le Protocole. Ce sondage a été envoyé aux présidents des comités d’audit et aux associés responsables des missions
d’audit. Cliquez ici pour lire la synthèse des résultats.

Qu'est-ce que le protocole?

Le protocole décrit la façon dont les cabinets d'audit communiquent les constatations importantes découlant des inspections du CCRC aux comités d'audit. Il s'applique à toutes les inspections réalisées à compter du 1er mars 2014. Veuillez consulter le protocole et la Foire aux questions pour obtenir plus d'information.

Pourquoi le CCRC a-t-il élaboré un protocole?

Le protocole vise avant tout à améliorer la qualité de l'audit. Les comités d'audit sont responsables de la surveillance et de l'évaluation de l'auditeur externe de leur société. Ils voulaient obtenir des informations supplémentaires sur les constatations découlant des inspections du CCRC afin de les aider à s'acquitter de leur rôle de manière plus efficace.

L'accès à ces informations supplémentaires favorisera la tenue de discussions ouvertes et franches sur la qualité de l'audit entre les comités d'audit et les cabinets d'audit. Le protocole permettra aux comités d'audit de s'acquitter de leur rôle de surveillance avec plus d'efficacité et de promouvoir une culture d'amélioration continue dans la qualité des audits. L'une des principales recommandations du rapport de 2013 du Groupe de travail sur le rôle du comité d'audit dans le cadre de l'initiative Amélioration de la qualité de l'audit était qu'il fallait se doter de moyens pour accroître la quantité d'information sur les inspections mise à la disposition des comités d'audit.

Comment fonctionne le protocole?

En vertu du protocole, les cabinets d'audit devront fournir aux comités d'audit de tous leurs clients émetteurs assujettis :

  • le rapport public annuel du CCRC : le rapport public présente les constatations du CCRC qui ressortent le plus souvent de ses inspections au cours d'une année donnée, et fournit des recommandations visant à améliorer la qualité des audits. Bien que le rapport ait toujours été à la disposition des comités d'audit, le fait que les cabinets d'audit soient tenus de leur en fournir un exemplaire amènera les membres des comités d'audit à discuter des problèmes liés à la qualité de l'audit avec leurs auditeurs.

De plus, si le CCRC a inspecté le dossier d'audit d'un émetteur assujetti dans l'année, le cabinet d'audit doit également fournir au comité d'audit :

  • les constatations importantes découlant de l'inspection du dossier d'audit de l'émetteur assujetti en question : les constatations importantes découlant de l'inspection sont rédigées par le CCRC et incluent les réponses du cabinet d'audit afin d'assurer une communication juste et équilibrée au comité d'audit. Les membres des comités d'audit doivent s'assurer de protéger la confidentialité des informations qu'ils reçoivent. Le cabinet d'audit fournit au CCRC un exemplaire de la communication relative aux constatations découlant de l'inspection au comité d'audit.

Quels cabinets d'audit participent à la communication des constatations en vertu du protocole?

Le protocole est facultatif et a été conçu avec le concours de parties prenantes afin de répondre aux demandes d'information supplémentaire sur les constatations des inspections du CCRC de la part des comités d'audit. Par souci de transparence pour la mise en œuvre du protocole, les comités d’audit et les autres parties prenantes peuvent cliquer ici  pour accéder à la liste des cabinets d’audit participants.


Contexte et objectifs

Les comités d'audit des émetteurs assujettis du Canada ont demandé une plus grande transparence des constatations découlant des inspections du CCRC, afin de les aider dans leur rôle de surveillance et d'évaluation de l'auditeur externe. L'une des principales recommandations du Groupe de travail sur le rôle du comité d'audit dans le cadre de l'initiative Amélioration de la qualité de l'audit était que le CCRC et les cabinets d'audit élaborent un protocole visant à accroître l'information sur les inspections mise à la disposition des comités d'audit.

En 2013, le CCRC a consulté certaines des principales parties prenantes, y compris des administrateurs de sociétés, des cabinets d'audit, des commissions des valeurs mobilières et des conseillers juridiques, pour élaborer un projet de protocole.

L'objectif de la communication des constatations des inspections est de fournir aux comités d'audit des renseignements pertinents concernant les constatations découlant des inspections du CCRC, afin de les appuyer dans leur rôle de surveillance et d'évaluation de l'auditeur externe.

Nous sommes d'avis qu'en tout premier lieu, la communication des informations liées aux inspections permettra d'accroître la qualité de l'audit en améliorant la nature et la profondeur des discussions entre l'auditeur et le comité d'audit au sujet de la qualité de l'audit. Cela permettra au comité d'audit de surveiller d'une façon plus efficace le travail de l'auditeur et de favoriser une culture d'amélioration continue.

Processus de consultation

Le CCRC a invité toutes les parties prenantes à lui transmettre leurs commentaires sur le projet de protocole entre le 29 novembre 2013 et le 24 janvier 2014. Les questions sur lesquelles nous souhaitions tout particulièrement recevoir des commentaires étaient énoncées à la rubrique Questions de l'appel à commentaires du document de consultation.

Les lettres de commentaires reçues ainsi qu'un résumé des réponses du CCRC aux commentaires figurent ci-après. Tous les commentaires reçus ont été rendus publics, sauf indication contraire expresse de la part des répondants.

Document à télécharger

Resources

Abonnez-vous à notre liste de diffusion.

Recevez des nouvelles et des informations du
CCRC.

Une question vous préoccupe?

Communiquez avec nous par l’entremise de
notre ligne téléphonique confidentielle.

Cabinets participants

Voir une liste de cabinets d’audit inscrits
auprès du CCRC. » Liste complète